Temperature zones across India

Here is a map with all the zones across India and their temperatures. Find your appropriate zone and choose your plants/trees accordingly.

India can be categorized into six main temperature subcategories.
  1. Highland in the north.
  2. Humid subtropical in the central and east.
  3. Arid and dry in the west.
  4. Semi arid in parts of the west and south.
  5. Tropical wet on the southwest coasts.
  6. Tropical wet to dry in most of South India.
The annual temperature of the country can be classified according to the season that comprise of the summer season, winter season and the rainy season. Summers can be extremely hot and humid, with temperatures in and around 45 degree C.

Winters are cooler and pleasant and many states have an average temperature of 25 degree C. Northern India ad a few north eastern states experience extremely cold climates that can reach below 0 degree C.

Rainfall varies according to region. The southern coasts get their fair share of rains. The rains, which begins in June and lasts till September, also differ in many parts of India, while the desert region experiences very little rainfall, most other parts especially south India receives heavy rainfall.

Northern regions have alpine climate with winters having heavy snow fall and low temperatures. Himalayas experience spring and autumn which are very pleasant in this part of the country.
Southern states have tropical climate. South India includes Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh receive pleasant winter season that can be experienced from November to February. The temperatures can be a maximum 17 to 20 degree C.
The Western states of Maharashtra, Gujarat and Haryana too experience pleasant climate during the winters.
The eastern states too experience cold weather and can be extreme as well.